Celebrate the spirit of National Recovery Month

National Recovery Month, sponsored by The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), is recognized each September.

Recovery Month promotes the societal benefits of prevention, treatment, and recovery for substance use and mental disorders, celebrates people in recovery, lauds the contributions of treatment and service providers, and promotes the message that recovery in all its forms is possible.

Recovery Month spreads the positive message that behavioral health is essential to overall health, that prevention works, treatment is effective and people can and do recover.

Here are just a few stories from individuals celebrating Recovery Month

Today I work in recovery advocacy, and I try to help people who are experiencing the suffering I once did. My life today isn’t always easy, but I know that my recovery and the support I have in my life today can carry me through any situation life brings to me. 

Plain and simple, medication management and psychotherapy have helped me stay on the path of recovery from my mental health conditions. I’m an aspiring author with an autobiography detailing my mental health issues, and I advocate for the mentally ill. I am now 45 years old and living life to the fullest.

I have been in recovery for 15 years. I feel everyday is an accomplishment in my sobriety. I am happy and living a fulfilling life as I never experienced during my addiction. I am now working towards my masters of social work degree and will use this education to work with those dealing with mental health issues and addictions.

My life has been an unfolding process of searching for my truth and my liberation. A major part of my journey has been looking back with a deeper lens at what happened to me. I was put in a mental institution at age 16 and told that I had an incurable brain disease. The experts, however, were wrong.

For more stories about recovery, click here

Aurora Psychiatric Hospital supports individuals in recovery in many ways. One of the most recent projects is the renovation of the President’s House, which will benefit recovery support groups.

If you or someone you know would benefit from addiction treatment or mental health services, please contact Aurora Behavioral Health Services at 877-666-7223 or visit our web site at Aurora Behavioral Health Services

For more information about National Recovery Month go to www.recoverymonth.gov

Aurora Behavioral Health Services offers complete mental health treatment options, provided by highly trained professionals in a caring, confidential manner to meet individual and family needs.  If you or someone you know needs help, contact us — online or by phone at 1-877-666-7223 — as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

